Cubist Millennium Falcon by Tommervik


I’ve been looking at the Millennium Falcon through art for some time now and i have to confess that it has become my most favoured area of collecting. Part of it is the artistic interpretation and part of it is the different artistic styles.

Cubism’s never struck me as a popular style of art as you don’t see that much of it about these days. It is a unique, dynamic and striking style though. Alas, i’ve never been able to track down a version of the Millennium Falcon in this style. Until now. 🙂

I was looking through DeviantART and came across an artist by the name of Tommervik who’s done not one, but three paintings of the Millennium Falcon in this style and i have to say that i love them all. I’ve sent a message to see if they’re availble as i’d love to own these. 🙂 It doesn’t look like they’re for sale though. Still, great paintings.

Check out the link to his page. He’s got some other very nice SF Art including Spock and R2-D2.

15/08/11: I contacted Tommervik and made him an offer for each of the initial paintings which he agreed to. I’m pleased to say that i received the first one today and it is very nice. A lot smaller than i was expecting, but a very nice piece never the less. I think that the three of them would look very good together.

About mffanrodders

A long time Science Fiction fan and Star Wars collector, my collection focus has taken a turn towards Han Solo's iconic Star Ship and I thought that i'd start this blog to keep track of my collection of Millennium Falcon related stuff as i progress.
This entry was posted in Art, Fan Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cubist Millennium Falcon by Tommervik

  1. icruise says:

    I like those. Tommervik likes to post his paintings on ebay for very high prices (like $1,000,000), presumably just to get people to notice them, since I’m sure he would take offers of much much less.

  2. Theresa says:

    My Husband and I own three of his pieces so far, including one of the Falcon’s. He’s always really nice. Just give him an offer on Ebay for one of the pieces http://stores.ebay.com/artworkbytommervik

    He usually needs time before shipping pieces out because they are done in oil and need to dry, but they are totally worth the wait! =D

    (We also own an AT-AT and an r2d2 piece)

    Happy Buying!!

    • mffanrodders says:

      Thanks Theresa, i’ll look into doing that when my finances have had a chance to recover. Do youn have pictures of your other Tommervik paintings?)

  3. icruise says:

    He apparently accepted a Best Offer of just $100 on one of his paintings recently, so it’s worth a try. He has one Falcon piece up now.

  4. Theresa says:

    Tommervik’s Star Wars paintings, in the last 2 weeks or so, have been featured on at least 4 different sites. So I wouldn’t be surprised if he started selling more pieces and that they don’t last as long on Ebay as they have in the past. Jabba was posted on his Facebook page last Dec and it was until recently that I think it was sold. As it’s no longer in his store.

    If you are interested in commissioning a piece by him I am sure he’d be willing to do it. We’re thinking about getting a Boba Fett piece at some point in the future, and he said he would do it. =D

    • mffanrodders says:

      Yeah, i really do like his work. It’s unusual and there don’t appear to be too many artists using thios style. I want to look out for some more abstract art works. 🙂

      Just out of curiosity, how do these come? Are they rolled or gallery wrapped?

  5. Just picked up a Falcon painting myself. Looking forward to receiving it!

Leave a comment